Monday, 16 April 2012

Binibining Pilipinas 2012

30 hopefuls from all over the Philippines competed for the 3 of the most coveted crowns in the Philippine pageantry at Smart Araneta Coliseum last April 15th. The 30 hopefuls entered the stage with a lively Brazilian Opening Number then a live Introduction. After that, all the ladies paraded in their swimsuits for the Swimsuit Competition. Then the Evening Gown competition.

23-years old Janine Tugonon, 1st Runner Up of last year's competition coveted the Miss Universe Philippines 2012 title and crown. She was crowned by Miss Universe 2011 3rd Runner Up, Shamcey Supsup. Janine hails from Bataan.

24-years old Nicole Schmitz who also bagged the Best in Swimsuit and Best in National Costume award won the Bb. Pilipinas-International 2012 title and crown. She was crowned by Miss International 2011 Top 15 SF and Miss Internet Popularity awardee, Dianne Necio. She will represent her country at Miss International 2012 in Japan. She hails from Cebu City and is half Australian.

18-year old and her first time pageant, Katrina Dimaranan who also bagged the Miss Talent award won the Bb. Pilipinas-Tourism title and crown. She was crowned by Isabella Manjon, last year's winner and Miss Tourism Queen International 2011 Miss Charity Award receiver. She MIGHT represent the Philippines at Miss Tourism Queen International 2012. She hails from San Juan City.

1st Runner Up is Elaine Kay Moll from Northern Samar and 2nd Runner Up is Bulacan's Annalie Forbes. However, the Philippines' representative for Miss Supranational has not been appointed.


The Philippine Pageantry was also shocked because of MJ Lastimosa not winning a crown, she was a big favorite since the very beginning of the pageant. She was last year's 2nd Runner Up.

Here are the Full results:

Miss Universe PhilippinesJanine Marie Tugonon
Binibining Pilipinas - InternationalNicole Schmitz
Binibining Pilipinas - TourismKatrina Jayne Dimaranan
1st Runner-UpElaine Kay Moll
2nd Runner-UpAnnalie Forbes
Top 12 Finalists
  • #30 Sherlyn Gonzales
  • #16 Liezl Alcantara
  • #7 Patricia Lae Ejercitado
  • #26 Angelee delos Reyes
  • #9 Mary Jean Lastimosa
  • #14 Gina Joy Howell
  • #1 Karen Gallman

Special Awards

First Set of Special Awards#Candidate
Bb. Best in National Costume8Nicole Schmitz
Bb. Friendship25Chloe Zanardi
Bb. Talent13Katrina Jayne Dimaranan
Bb. Manila Bulletin Readers' Choice Award20Roxanne Tadique
(won this award 2nd time around, she first won
this last 2008's edition)
Bb. People's Choice Award21Giselle Angelica Muñoz
Bb. Best in Swimsuit8Nicole Schmitz
Second Set of Special Awards#Candidate
Bb. Photogenic1Karen Gallman
Bb. Philippine Airlines9Mary Jean Lastimosa
Bb. Avon Philippines9Mary Jean Lastimosa
Bb. Best in Long Gown26Angelee delos Reyes